RSS

Fictional Intruder

17 Jul

I don’t usually do this, but after reading the Daily Post’s prompt ‘Fictional Intruder‘, I felt utterly intrigued and compelled to write a response. And so without further ado….


1. Phillip Pullman: His Dark Materials

 My first world or fictional event to visit would have to be the parallel universe created by Phillip Pullman in his epic trilogy ‘His Dark Materials’ in which we follow the trials of a young girl named Lyra in her quest to overcome the steadily approaching evil that is threading to overpower not just her world, but many other worlds like it and by doing so; complete the quest that is growing up. When I first read this at about eight or nine, I was at first drawn into the idea of each human character having a daemon; or a physical representation of your soul in animal form. As a wide eyed child I wanted nothing more than to know what form my daemon was and even now; aged nineteen; am still intrigued at what form my ‘spirit animal’ would have settled into.

Lyra and Pan  His Dark Materials: Phillip Pullman

Lyra and Pan
His Dark Materials: Phillip Pullman

2. George R.R Martin: A Song of Ice and Fire/Game of Thrones 

I know it’s turned into a bit of a popular culture cliche; but when I first read the first A Song of Ice and Fire /Game of Thrones book at the end of my first semester at University, it was more Martin’s exploration and sheer amount of detail of the worlds of Westeros which drew me into this epic saga which I am still yet to finish and would give anything to visit. The nods to Medieval/War of the Roses wars on succession also satisfied my history brain and the characters… I do not think I have words enough in me to thank Martin for his ability to create and develop such intensely complex characters who whilst all still holding their own aura of mystique, were still beautifully believable.

A Song Of Ice and Fire: A Game of Thrones Published: Harper Voyager Date published: 1996 (paperback published 2011)

A Song Of Ice and Fire: A Game of Thrones
Published: Harper Voyager
Date published: 1996 (paperback published 2011)

 


 

3. Paul Stewart: The Edge Chronicles 

A slightly less well known choice for my third world in The Edge Chronicles by Paul Stewart. In my opinion this series would, with a sympathetic director with an eye for well thought out CGI, make a set of stunning children’s fantasy films with its’ collection of simply weird and wonderful creatures such as the terrifying Grossmother and the outwardly ferocious but inwardly adorable and heartbreakingly loyal Hammelhorns. The blend of Lewis Carroll and J.R.R Tolkien had me hooked from the very first page and one of the things I would tell Twig is: ‘I don’t care that it’s your destiny, ‘don’t stray away from the path!’

The Edge Chronicles Book 1: Beyond the Deepwoods Author: Paul Stewart Published: 1999 (Corgi Books)

The Edge Chronicles Book 1: Beyond the Deepwoods
Author: Paul Stewart
Published: 1999 (Corgi Books)

 


Much love,

Phoenixflames12 xxxx 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
